You are here: Home » Product Reviews » Product Reviews » KONI Sport Shocks: The Horse Harnessers
Thursday, 17 Apr 2014
Brakes |Cooling | Drivetrain | Electronics | Engine | Exhaust | Exterior | Fluids | Forced Induction | Fuel & Ignition | Gauges | Intake | Interior | Promo Products | Safety Equipment | Suspension | Wheels
thmotorsports feature car submission thmotorsports facebook thmotorsports twitter thmotorsports myspace thmotorsports youtube thmotorsports flicker thmotorsports rss feed

KONI Sport Shocks: The Horse Harnessers

E-mail Print PDF
KONI Sport Shocks: The Horse HarnessersWe’d all love to corral all the performance potential out of our cars. With added horse-power under the hood, your car reacts quite differently. Things tend to speed-up, however, without the proper suspension to direct all the added horse-power under the hood, we’re like a wild horse wearing blinders that doesn’t know how to stop. Fittingly enough, this week we take a look at Koni Sport shocks and just how we can get what we want out of our cars.

KONI is situated in Oud-Beyerland just south of Rotterdam in the Netherlands and began business in 1857, manufacturing horse harnesses and upholstery. By 1918 production switched to spring covers and later, metal car panel beating/spraying.

By 1932 KONI started the production of friction shock absorbers and by 1945 the factory produced the industry's first adjustable shock absorbers for cars and trucks, soon followed by dampers for railway cars. Since 1950 KONI has developed from a skilled local company into a multinational shock absorber specialist, with subsidiaries in Germany, France and the US and independent national distributors in more than ninety countries. And the rest is history and the future of performance tuners worldwide So, I guess you can say that KONI has been handling horse-power for over 150 years. But, that’s not why THMotorsports recommends KONI products.

. What exactly do KONI sport shocks do and why do I want them? Well, first off everyone loves to have that aggressive, lowered look and stance on their car. The cheapest way to go about that is to just cut your springs or buy sport springs that will lower your car and give you better handling. Now, if you’ve ever ridden in one of these cars, you have to make sure you adjust the seat lower so that you don’t hit your head on the roof of the car when you go over a bump. Yeah, it can be that bad!

Enter stage left, KONI Sport shocks. THMotorsports has been recommending KONI for some time now and the praise of the product has never stopped. The Koni Sport product line is one of our specialities and serves Sporting Drivers with a carefully designed range of sport shock absorbers. This product focuses on exceptional road holding and handling, combined with a reasonable level of driving comfort. They can also be used with spring kits to lower a vehicle up to 35mm.

Many of the Koni Sport dampers are externally adjustable by means of an adjustment knob at the top of the damper. This means you do not have to remove the damper from the vehicle to adjust the rebound forces. This enables you to fine tune the handling & ride to suit your driving style.

Dampers without the top adjustable feature can still be adjusted, although they will need to be removed from the vehicle to achieve this. You may wish to use lowered springs with the Koni Sport range, if you do this please be aware the maximum lowering permitted is 35mm. Please also ensure that any bump stops are re-fitted to ensure no damage occurs to the valving should the damper bottom out.

Here are some of the KONI Sport Shock Features:
• Big handling improvements
• Reasonable ride quality
• External rebound adjustment on most cars
• Best KONI shock for all lowering springs
• Re-buildable and re-valveable for custom vehicle setups
• Yellow exterior finish
• Lifetime Warranty
 
And, of course, no product review is complete with some customer reviews, below:

 
Reviews for Koni Sport  

2003 Saturn L200
Vehicle Miles: 52,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: Newark, DE Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
N/A
H&R Sport Spring Set
N/A
Driving Style: Spirited
Miles of product use: 200
Satisfaction Rating: 8

After putting these struts and springs on my car, it handles and rides better than stock, even being lowered. It doesn t turn as well as I thought, but the ride quality of the Koni s are awesome. It takes bumps so much better, I don t feel tire vibrations, and it s all around much quieter. The turning is very responsive, and there is less body roll, but I ve been in other lowered vehicles before, and I would say that it turns quick, but not as well as I thought. I am completely satisfied with this purchase, and would recommend it to anyone. -- Review submitted: 2008-03-03

 

1998 Volvo S70 T5
Vehicle Miles: 78,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: OMAHA, NE Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
N/A
H&R Sport Spring Set
N/A
Driving Style: Spirited
Miles of product use: 1,500
Satisfaction Rating: 9

I wished it dropped about 1/4" lower. Other than that the complete package of H&R sport springs. Koni Yellows, IPD Sway bars & HD Endlinks turns a nice riding 98 Volvo S70 T5 into a real corner carver. -- Review submitted: 2008-03-02

 

2003 Nissan Sentra SE-R Spec-V
Vehicle Miles: 185,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: SPOKANE, WA Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
Custom
Custom
N/A
Driving Style: Spirited
Miles of product use: 5,000
Satisfaction Rating: 10

Koni yellows are a vast improvement over the Tokico blues and the KYB AGX struts. They offer the ability to shorten them to gain suspension travel as well as superior construction all for around the same price -- Review submitted: 2008-02-19

 

2006 Honda Accord Sedan EX V6
Vehicle Miles: 26,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: San Gabriel, CA Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
DC Sports Steel Strut Bar
H&R OE Sport Spring Set
N/A
Driving Style: Spirited
Miles of product use: 20,000
Satisfaction Rating: 10

Koni sport shocks and H&R OE Sport Spring Set is definitely the best set up for this vehicle -- Review submitted: 2007-11-22

 

2001 Lexus IS300
Vehicle Miles: 93,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
N/A
H&R Sport Spring Set
N/A
Driving Style: Spirited
Miles of product use: 300
Satisfaction Rating: 10

Before my current setup, I had Eibach Pro-Kits on Stock Shocks. However, after switching over to the Koni Yellows with H&R Sport springs, it s a night and day difference. The handling, the road feel, everything is leaps and bounds better. The IS is a competent car when it comes to handling. This setup definitely brings out the best of the car. You will not regret it. -- Review submitted: 2007-10-02

 

2004 Saturn LW300
Vehicle Miles: 56,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: Toronto, ON Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
N/A
Stock
N/A
Driving Style: Average
Miles of product use: 56,100
Satisfaction Rating: 8

These rear shocks for my car only offer a ride height adjustment of "stock height" or a 20 mm rise, for trailering. I wanted a 20 mm drop. I set the firmness to about 65% of full. The suggested start point was 20% and never use 100%. At the 65% setting, this is softer than the factory rear shocks. I now would now like to try a setting of 95 % or so, but that will take about 4 hours of labour. I guess that is called, tuning. These are great shocks but one should consider the complete lowering kit for five times the material cost if supension tuning is your goal. The RR factory shock started to fail at 30,000 miles and was completely non functing at 50,000 miles. The Tire Rack has been my best experience with after market parts, delivery to Canada was fast, four days, and at a very reasonable price. I will be buying as many after market parts from the Tire Rack as required. I still have as yet to install my Hawk pads and Brembo rotors from the Tire Rack. Thanks so much. -- Review submitted: 2007-09-14

 

2004 Lexus IS300
Vehicle Miles: 78,500   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: Annapolis, MD Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
N/A
Eibach Pro-Kit Spring Set
N/A
Driving Style: Spirited
Miles of product use: 200
Satisfaction Rating: 8

These provide a nice drop while still maintaining a nice ride and firming things up in the corners. Coupled with my new Koni shocks, the car corners like its on rails but doesn t beat me up when the road turns bumpy. Koni shocks with Eibach ProKit....no other way to go for a daily driver. -- Review submitted: 2007-08-31

 

2001 BMW 330Ci Sport Package
Vehicle Miles: 85,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: NASHUA, NH Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
H&R Anti-Roll Bar
Stock
N/A
Driving Style: Spirited
Miles of product use: 10,000
Satisfaction Rating: 9

Per Stock class rules, I can only add a front bar. It definitely made the car much faster in transitions and slaloms, but took some "pivot" away. put it in right before nationals last year, hurt the first day; all tight 180 s; the second day it helped: all transitions. Quality was excellent, installation was amazingly fast, and didn t interfere with my ride height sensor, although it was close. Make sure to use lock-tight on the factory links... oops.. -- Review submitted: 2007-08-29

 

1998 Honda CR-V
Vehicle Miles: 85,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: APO, AE Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
N/A
null
Custom
Driving Style: Spirited
Miles of product use: 1,000
Satisfaction Rating: 10

great adjustability, makes driving on the autobahn and 100mph alot more comfortable. but driving over broken roads is a bit bumpy but not unreasonable, mostly due to the coilovers and not the shocks I m sure, because the bumpy ride changes little with adjustment of the shocks from firm to soft. -- Review submitted: 2007-08-23

 

1991 Honda Accord EX Sedan
Vehicle Miles: 145,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: valdosta, ga Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
N/A
H&R Sport Spring Set
N/A
Driving Style: Average
Miles of product use: 50
Satisfaction Rating: 8

Definite ride and cornering improvement. Front drop was as advertised, rear drop was lower than advertised. Had to use the adjustable clips on my koni yellows to even the wheel well openings by raising the rear and leaving the front at stock hieght. Front seems to be about 1/4 inch higher on one side. I will let settle before contacting the good folks at tirerack. I would not be happy with the drop on my honda if it could not be adjusted by the shocks. Stock settings had it too low in the rear, even with the front wheel well having a larger opening from the factory. -- Review submitted: 2007-08-13

 

1991 Nissan 240SX
Vehicle Miles: 200,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: GARDEN CITY, KS Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
N/A
null
N/A
Driving Style: Spirited
Miles of product use: 20,000
Satisfaction Rating: 10

The Koni Sports are amazing dampers and you only have to pay a little more to get the good stuff. The ride is far better than the stock dampers and much more firm and stable in cornering and just driving around. The only gripe I have is on the 240sx the rear dampers have to be taken off of the car and the springs removed to adjust the damping of the unit. Other than that it s a great buy. -- Review submitted: 2007-07-31

 

1999 Honda Accord Sedan EX V6
Vehicle Miles: 105,000   All Suspension Products on Vehicle
Location: LOUISVILLE, KY Shocks:
Chassis Products:
Spring:
Coil-Over:
Koni Sport
N/A
null
N/A
Driving Style: Spirited
Miles of product use: 7,000
Satisfaction Rating: 10

They are a vast improvement over stock. They are firm without being stiff and punishing. Most people have no idea they are after market. They are fairly smooth riding and only get harsh over sharp bumps. I could not be happier. I installed the fronts on the lower mount and the rears on the upper mount. -- Review submitted: 2007-07-23
 
Select your vehicle make below to search for the KONI Sport Shocks that fit your car:

Comments

0 Yjee 2010-10-24 22:45 #1
I've had the best time spent of my college years with Nissan Sentra..This car is ideal for daily usage..Nice and sturdy look and well-build..Crash and rollover chances in case of collision almost nil! Extremely spacious, easy-to-use and very practical controls and quick handling..Substantial built and classy and solid design.This car was awesome to me!
Quote | Report to administrator

Add comment

All spam will be removed and left unpublished.


Security code Refresh

Related Articles